RSS Feed

If you like Piña coladas, and getting caught in the rain….

Posted on

If you like Piña coladas, and getting caught in the rain....

I might as well put my hands up and confess – I have a thing at the moment about turning drinks into Bear-y cakes. Cola, Cherry Cola, Malibu and Lime, Irish Coffee… These were my take on piña colada flavoured cakes made for sister’s 21st birthday, I’d been wanting to do them for a while and not just because I have large bottle of coconut rum taking up valuable new cake stand space in the kitchen. I had been waiting for the right occasion though, due to my normal target market for cake having the combined age of 6 years.

They were really easy to do – it’s a traditional vanilla sponge, but instead of vanilla flavouring I used 1 tsp of pineapple essence. I then made a coconut rum buttercream (110g unsalted butter, 500g icing sugar, 2.5 tbsp coconut rum, 2 tsp milk) piped it on using a large round nozzle and sprinkled with dessicated coconut.

They were decorated with a glace cherry and cocktail umbrella, only for me to realise that having done that, they didn’t fit in the cake box to take to my sister. I also then turned my back for two seconds to answer the phone and found Baby Bear using the full cake box as a maraca….

You win some, you lose some!
Mummy Bear x

2 responses »

  1. Gosh, this looks marvellous ! I’m so loving it! =D

    Reply
  2. Pingback: The sun is shining, the weather is sweet | Baking for Bears

Leave a Reply

mintcustard

Just another WordPress.com site

A Little Baker in Training

I love baking and teaching my little ones to join in on the fun!

no time for ironing

Food, Fun and Fresh Air

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Motherhood, WTF?

I'm the mom who makes you feel better about your parenting.

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

