RSS Feed

Blondies have more fun

Posted on

I used to laugh at Daddy Bear for reading non fiction computer books for ‘fun’, until he pointed out that I spent exactly the same amount of time, reading and re-reading recipe books for ‘fun’ and that I was even worse because I colour coded the recipes I wanted to try with post stick notes and annotated the sides with little comments once I’d made them. There is a point to this. Kind of.

Anyway, one of the recipes I post-sticked and then didn’t bake for ages were Blondies. I was drawn to them because they have a witty name, and also because all the recipes seemed to have copious amounts of white chocolate in. And that can never be wrong. If you’re wondering what Blondies are, they’re like brownies in texture and shape and bake, but without the cocoa making them brown. If you bake Blondies with milk chocolate chips in, they’re called Blondies with roots. Clever huh?! Well, maybe I’m just easily amused.

The reason I didn’t bake them for ages is because I could never decide exactly which recipe to use, and what types of nuts and extra stuff to put in them. It’s almost like a researched them too much. In the end I baked them on the spur of the moment, after a friend remind me about them, and only had white chocolate and walnuts in the cupboard. But it turns out it was an awesome combination which I accidentally stumbled upon, so I thought I’d share!

Image

White chocolate and Walnut Blondies

150g plain flour

3/4 tsp baking powder

115g butter

200g light brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla essence

100g chopped walnuts

125g chopped white chocolate

Preheat your oven to 170C. Sift the flour and baking powder into a bowl. Melt the butter in a saucepan on a gentle heat, then remove from the heat and stir in the brown sugar using a whisk. The recipe used suggested then adding the flour mix and all the other ingredients into the pan, but I hadn’t read ahead properly, so had only used a teeny tiny pan, making this impossible.

So this is what I did next: Beat the egg and vanilla into the bowl of flour, then pour in the butter and sugar mixture and mix well. Add in the walnuts and chocolate chips and mix until they’re evenly combined.

Put all of the mixture into a 20 cm square tin, spread so it’s flat and then bake in the oven for 20-25 mins until it’s golden and cracked looking on the top. Remove from the oven and leave to cool. If you’re ridiculously impatient like Mummy Bear, pop it outside to cool, or if you’re even more impatient, in the freezer. Once cool, cut it into squares in the tin, and then lift each square out individually using a flexible or slotted turner. (No, I didn’t know that that was the name of the utensil I seem to use for everything. Google knew though.)

The Blondies will be quite gooey to start with, so if you prefer them firmer, either bake for longer, or when cooled, place on some kitchen towel and leave out on the side for a couple of hours and they firm up. In fact, these seemed to be even better when eaten the next day…. it’s just making them last that long which is the issue!

Mummy Bear x

One response »

Leave a Reply

mintcustard

Just another WordPress.com site

A Little Baker in Training

I love baking and teaching my little ones to join in on the fun!

no time for ironing

Food, Fun and Fresh Air

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Motherhood, WTF?

I'm the mom who makes you feel better about your parenting.

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

