RSS Feed

Dandelion and Burdock

Dandelion and Burdock

Dandelion and what?? Yes, that was my reaction when I first saw this flavour drink on the shelves at ASDA. (Yes, another supermarket trip. Did I mention I almost live there?) You know when something sounds so very very wrong, but your almost compelled to try it? Those peanut butter and jelly people know what I’m talking about. And those people who eat bacon with their pancakes.

So I was compelled to buy it, and I’m really glad I did, because it is perfect in cakes! If anyone wants to know what Dandelion and Burdock tastes like, don’t read this blog, because I am about to have a rubbish attempt at describing it.

It has a star anis flavour running through it, (some people say liquorice, but it’s not, because I hate liquorice,) and also maybe a bit of cherry/almond flavouring and a tiny sharpness of ginger? See, I did warn you my description would be rubbish! Apparently it’s American cousin is root beer, but having never tried root bear, I don’t know if this is true or another liquorice type lie.

If you want to try and make these yourself, buy some Dandelion and Burdock sodastream and add 1 tbsp to your normal 16 cupcake vanilla batter, instead of the vanilla, and bake as normal. I added 1.5 tsp of the syrup to a standard batch of buttercream, and that was strong enough for me, but adjust it to your individual tastes.

All the drinks packaging I have seen for Dandelion and Burdock have been purple (I think because Burdock has purple flowers?) hence the purple buttercream which I used Sugarflair grape violet paste for, and because I had run out of piping bags, I attempted a Hummingbird bakery style swirl on top. And failed!

Mummy Bear x

3 responses »

  1. :O they sound amazing, I alway shad dandelion and burdock at my grandparents house when I was little, to me it’s like childhood! I have have have to try these! Thank you! =]

    Reply
    • My husband loves d&b but I can’t stand it. He would love it if I made these for him as he could eat them all 🙂

      Reply
  2. Pingback: The Calm before the Storm « Baking for Bears

Leave a Reply

mintcustard

Just another WordPress.com site

A Little Baker in Training

I love baking and teaching my little ones to join in on the fun!

no time for ironing

Food, Fun and Fresh Air

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Motherhood, WTF?

I'm the mom who makes you feel better about your parenting.

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

