RSS Feed

Last of the summer strawberries

On Sunday it was beautiful weather – the sun was shining the wind disappeared and it finally looked like Summer had arrived. In September. Whilst out with the Bears I came across a market stall selling super cheap and teeny strawberries. So I bought two punnets, thinking I would try another thing off my must-try list: Jam. However, between the market and the Bears’ house, a whole punnet seemed to disappear. I suspect it had something to do with Big Bear’s tummy.

At least it meant my jam making attempt borderline disaster was limited to a small amount! The recipe I used was one I found using my good friend Google, chosen because it looked the easiest.

Image

Ingredients:

380g Strawberries

350g Caster sugar

50 ml Lemon juice

Measure all the ingredients into a heavy bottomed saucepan. Use a potato masher to mash the strawberries to the size you prefer in your jam. Bring the ingredients to the boil, and stir continually until the jam is the desired consistency. The recipe I followed suggested boiling it for 20 minutes, however, my jam was definitely more of a toffee consistency when I’d followed this instruction. Delicious, but not really spreadable! Still, I persisted and sterilized a jam jar (20 minutes at 180C in the oven, on a shelf lined with baking paper) and poured the jam into the jar and left to cool. Baking Jammie Dodgers have now moved right up the to-bake list, as I have a lot of jam/toffee to use up!

The following day Auntie Bear repeated the recipe using the same ingredients, but boiling for much less time, around 8 minutes. She also used the recipe for simple Vanilla bear-y cakes to make batch of plain cupcakes, unwrapped each one from their muffin cases once baked, sliced in half horizontally and filled with her brilliant jam to make individual Victoria sponges. These also seemed to disappear into Big Bear’s tummy before I could realise!

And as for the weather – well I had to scrape ice of the car’s windscreen this morning. So much for strawberries and summer, I think it’s time to break out the mince pies!

2 responses »

  1. Can’t believe summer is over already. Good thing about living in Jakarta is it is summer all year round. Hehehee…
    Love your recipes. Please keep coming.

    Reply
  2. hummm beautiful scones.I will try your recipe!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

mintcustard

Just another WordPress.com site

A Little Baker in Training

I love baking and teaching my little ones to join in on the fun!

no time for ironing

Food, Fun and Fresh Air

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Motherhood, WTF?

I'm the mom who makes you feel better about your parenting.

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

