RSS Feed

Winter Baking Begins – The first fruit cake!

Winter Baking Begins - The first fruit cake!

After having to scrape ice off the car last week I have formally declared that it is winter, and hence forth only be baking autumnal and winter recipes. This explains why Nanny Bear’s birthday cake was a rich fruit cake (well, that and the fact I had some brandy soaked dried fruit hanging around my cupboard which were complaining bitterly that they hadn’t been eaten!)

Because of the pre-packed fruit I have no recipe for you, but I do have a little word of warning: Using Daddy Bear’s ‘anything for the quiet life’ motto, I bought pre rolled marzipan to cover the cake underneath the sugar paste. All I can say is don’t be lazy – roll it yourself, because it really needs to be kneaded before being rolled and applying to the cake to stop the cracks forming, and so defeats the point of spending more to have it pre rolled!

Now, I’m off to make a gingerbread latte and listen to Christmas carols – it’s only 12 weeks away you know!

Mummy Bear x

2 responses »

  1. And very yummy it was too. *blissfully licking crumbs off fingers* Nanny Bear xx

    Reply
  2. You are a real artist in sugar. Very pretty.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

mintcustard

Just another WordPress.com site

A Little Baker in Training

I love baking and teaching my little ones to join in on the fun!

no time for ironing

Food, Fun and Fresh Air

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Motherhood, WTF?

I'm the mom who makes you feel better about your parenting.

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

