RSS Feed

Getting our bake on

So I have rather neglected my kitchen as of late, (Daddy Bear even cooked the whole Christmas Dinner!) but yesterday Baby Bear decided to have a sudden unexpected mid day nap, and Big Bear asked to do some cooking.

However Daddy Bear heard my attempts to persuade Big Bear to bake some candy cane bear-y cakes (we have a candy cane surplus as no one likes mint in the Bear house!) and interjected saying that perhaps we should make something which was at least edible. Hmph. But Daddy Bear is always right.

Which is how we came about making Amaretti biscuits. Mainly because they are very quick and easy, so Big Bear wouldn’t lose interest half way through, but also because ages ago Daddy bear thought he was baking them, but ended up with Biscotti instead. True story.

Image

We didn’t have any Amaretto liquor in the Bear house however, because Daddy Bear is now on the wagon, so Big Bear and I had to create an alcohol free version.

Ingredients:

125g ground almonds

1 cup caster sugar

2 large egg whites

1 tsp vanilla essence

1 tsp almond flavouring

1.Pre heat the oven to 180C. Measure all ingredient into one bowl, then beat with an electric mixer for five minutes until it is a smooth paste. Let the mixture sit for another five minutes on the side.

2.Sprinkle plain flour over two baking trays. Put a small round nozzle into a piping bag, and fill the bag with the mixture. Pipe small circles, about the size of a ten pence piece, 2 cm apart onto the baking trays.

3.Put the trays into the oven and bake for 15 minutes, turning if needed. Take them out and leave to cool before transferring into an air tight container.

4.Go to bedroom and play Lego Lord of the Rings for the duration of Baby Bear’s nap time.

(Last stage is optional)

Mummy Bear x

3 responses »

  1. I love amaretti biscuits. I like to make them morbidi (soft ones)
    This reminds me that I haven’t made them in ages!

    They look nice piped to, as I usually roll them into balls and flatten them but they look much prettier this way.

    Reply
    • It was the first time we had made them so I have nothing to compare it to, but I don’t think I could have rolled them because the mixture was quite wet? These ones were crunchy like meringue on the outside and a little soft in the middle, I didn’t even know there were different types!

      Reply
      • The ones I made were soft and all over. I cant remember because it has been a while but I know it was a lot of egg whites whipped and then ground almonds added – it made a kind of heavy amaretti biscuit. The soft ones are always my favourite when we get them, though I never turn down a crunchy one either 🙂

Leave a Reply

mintcustard

Just another WordPress.com site

A Little Baker in Training

I love baking and teaching my little ones to join in on the fun!

no time for ironing

Food, Fun and Fresh Air

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Motherhood, WTF?

I'm the mom who makes you feel better about your parenting.

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

