RSS Feed

The Tortoise still wins

When I came across this blog post by The Greedy Frog I thought all my Christmases had come at once. Freshly baked bread in under and hour, with no kneeding or proving? Sounds too good to be true.

Image

Having never tried Soda Bread before, I wasn’t sure what to expect, although I must say I was a little apprehensive when reading the recipe, because it lacked yeast. And kneeding. And proving. And basically everything I have ever known about baking bread. But I was lured by the promise of a quick bread, and it did not let me down.

Because 45 minutes later I did have a golden brown loaf sitting on my bread board. But here is where the tortoise reclaims his crown from the Hare like Soda bread. There are two problems with this loaf.

1. It needs to be toasted and smeared with butter. Then it is delicious. But it is no use for Daddy Bear’s sandwiches, as the hard crust to soft inside ratio is a little out, and also makes it very tricky to slice.

2. (The main one!) It can’t be plaited.

However, if you too are curious as to what Soda bread tastes like (I’ll give you a clue: It’s not Bicarb of Soda) and don’t have a plaited bread fixation, have a go, because 40 mins from now you will be able to find out for yourself!

Mummy Bear x

3 responses »

  1. I bookmarked a soda bread recipe to make around St. Patrick’s Day, but I never got around to it… Silly of me, if it only takes 40 minutes to make!

    Reply
  2. Thanks for the mention!
    You are absolutely right, soda bread is a bit too crumbly for sandwiches, but it really comes into its own toasted. This is why I tend to make it as a kind of “emergency bread” when I can’t bake traditional bread.
    I am glad you tried it! 🙂

    Reply
  3. I love soda bread, its perfect for having with soups or stews. I always fancied a sweet one with fruit in it, I think it’d make a great breakfast loaf.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

mintcustard

Just another WordPress.com site

A Little Baker in Training

I love baking and teaching my little ones to join in on the fun!

no time for ironing

Food, Fun and Fresh Air

We're Calling Shenanigans!

Two Real Girls attempting the Pinterest Impossible

Motherhood, WTF?

I'm the mom who makes you feel better about your parenting.

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

